I Don’t Want to Go

Eurgain’s gone to Uganda, as you’re probably aware, so it’s left to me to wrap this blog up. We may resurrect it at some point on our next adventure, but until then we shall leave it dormant – as a permanent record of our time here.

It’s genuinely weird (to me at least) that I still remember landing on January 1st. The day was long, and stressful, and almost felt like it had an epic quality to it. Now, 4 months later, I realise it’s the whole experience which has been epic. The distance travelled, the complete unknown of New Westminster, and the now even scarier reality of 2.5 months without Eurgain. But if the term has taught me this, it’s that distance is nothing if you really want to talk to someone. The internet is a truly wonderful thing, and has made the whole time here so much more bearable. As has this. Letting out our feelings in this way has, for me at least, really allowed me to streamline what I want to say about our time here. And we’re definitely going to miss it. It does feel like home.

What have we been doing the last two weeks? Well, exams. Eurgain had 2 finals (which I’m sure she aced!!) and I had 4 (which apparently I did do very well in). I’ve now had enough results back from my 4 courses to say that my final grades are A+, and 3 As. Eurgain has had 2 As already, but I’m sure will have got at least the straight flush of them. So the educational point of this trip has been proven – we learnt in a different way, and learnt things we wouldn’t have done at home. I, now, actually know Canadian history – which is truly fascinating. Far more so than American 😉 Eurgain has thoroughly embraced her physical anthropology course, and is, as far as I’m aware, now looking to take that to a Masters level after graduation of her BA. I’m certainly more focused on what I want to achieve, with a new timeline for my career path. Although, as von Moltke once said, the first casualty of battle is the plan.

Amongst all the work, we have had time to enjoy time with friends. During the great summer of last week we had two friends over for an afternoon/evening of drinking, laughing, and eating. And I’ve been out for several farewell lunches with classmates and friends. All in all, a fairly relaxed last fortnight – despite the intermittent panic as finals loomed. At least we both know how to revise!

And that’s that. I’m heading off to the airport in just over 2 hours. Eurgain has finally made it to the village she’ll be living in for her time in Uganda. The next chapter of 2017 is beginning.

Roads go ever ever on
Under cloud and under star,
Yet feet that wandering have gone
Turn at last to home afar.
Eyes that fire and sword have seen
And horror in the halls of stone
Look at last on meadows green
And trees and hills they long have known.

Leave a Reply

